ATA unveils 2023 Law Enforcement Advisory Board

ATA unveils 2023 Law Enforcement Advisory Board

The ATA 2023 Law Enforcement Advisory Board has 38 members whose collective law enforcement experience totals over 900 years.

The American Trucking Associations (ATA) recently unveiled its 2023 Law Enforcement Advisory Board—a panel formed in 2021 to advise the ATA Federation on strategies to grow and strengthen relationships between the trucking industry and law enforcement organizations across the country.

The board is comprised of ATA members who have previous experience in federal, state and local law enforcement, as well as current and retired law enforcement officials who’ve contributed positively to the partnership between both groups. The 2023 LEAB has 38 members in total whose collective law enforcement experience totals over 900 years.

Fred Fakkema, vice president of safety and compliance for Zonar Systems, will once again serve as LEAB chairman. Prior to joining Zonar, Fakkema served 25 years in the Washington State Patrol.

The members of the 2023 LEAB are:

  • Fred Fakkema (chairman), Zonar Systems 
  • Ron Cordova, Zonar Systems
  • Jeff Ferber, J.B. Hunt
  • Derek Barrs, HNTB Corporation
  • Parker Harrison, Old Dominion Freight Line
  • Mike Martin, Old Dominion Freight Line
  • Jim Kochenderfer, Werner Enterprises
  • Tim Cardwell, National High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA) Assistance Center
  • Jeffrey Tippit, City of La Porte Police Department
  • Dana Moore, Texas Trucking Association
  • John Rigney, Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association
  • Kent Grisham, Nebraska Trucking Association
  • Will Cole, Montana Trucking Association
  • Steve Massey, North Carolina Trucking Association
  • Keith Eoff, J.B. Hunt
  • Marc Nichols, Drivewyze
  • Mark Savage, Drivewyze
  • John Samis, Delaware State Police
  • Mark Riordan, U.S. Auto Logistics
  • Christopher Vinson, Midlothian Texas Police Department
  • Rex Railsback, Railsback Hazmat Safety Professionals
  • Ray Miller, McAnally Wilkins Insurance
  • Jeff DeVere, DeVere Public Affairs
  • Rocco Marrari, EBE Technologies
  • Steve Dowling, Covenant Logistics
  • Steve Keppler, Scopelitis Transportation Consulting
  • Todd Armstrong, Illinois State Police
  • Jake Elovirta, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA)
  • Dennis Bailey, Walmart
  • Floyd Dixon, FedEx
  • Joshua Shelton, FedEx
  • Doug Beebe, American Moving & Storage Inc.
  • Gary McCarthy, Aurora Innovation
  • Kevin Kelley, Missouri State Highway Patrol
  • Milana Walters, TM Total Consulting
  • Martin Cepeda, Trancasa USA
  • David Guess, Usher Transport
  • Janice Mulanix, PrePass Safety Alliance

​​​​​​​The LEAB members have current or previous affiliation with the following 29 law enforcement entities:

  • City of La Porte, Texas Police Department
  • Colorado State Patrol
  • Texas State Highway Patrol
  • Florida State Highway Patrol
  • Pennsylvania State Police
  • Washington State Patrol
  • California State Highway Patrol
  • Rogers, Arkansas Police Department
  • Sarpy County Sheriff’s Office
  • Burlington, Vermont Police Department
  • Kansas State Highway Patrol
  • Midland, Texas Police Department
  • Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
  • North Carolina State Highway Patrol
  • City of Leclaire, Iowa Police Department
  • Illinois State Police
  • National High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA) Assistance Center
  • Ocean City, Maryland Police Department
  • Alabama State Police
  • Louisiana Department of Public Safety
  • Louisiana State Police
  • Fayette County, Georgia Police Department
  • Austin, Indiana Police Department
  • New Mexico Department of Public Safety
  • Bunn, North Carolina Police Department
  • Missouri State Highway Patrol
  • Arizona Department of Transportation
  • Montana Motor Carrier Services
  • Delaware State Police

You May Also Like

Double Coin announces new regional vice president of sales

Gino Tagliaferri will be responsible for overseeing sales operations and driving business in the western US.


Double Coin and CMA have added of Gino Tagliaferri as regional vice president of sales. In this newly created role at Double Coin, Tagliaferri will be responsible for overseeing sales operations and driving business in the western US.

Tagliaferri began his career at CMA in 2001, handling market development and sales. He spent eight years at American Pacific Industries (API), working up to major account manager and western region sales manager. In 2013, he began his tenure at Tires Warehouse Inc (TWI). Upon their acquisition by US Auto Force in 2017, Tagliaferri was responsible for sales of the western region, as manager of commercial sales and marketing.

The 3 key elements that drive shop safety 

Inattention to detail could lead to serious consequences in a dangerous, busy shop environment.

MEMA Aftermarket Suppliers create Heavy Duty eCommerce Committee

The purpose of the HDeC is to advance the heavy-duty aftermarket by advocating, educating, and sharing ideas.

Dayton Parts redesigns website

The new search experience includes more options to narrow down searches.

Women In Trucking Association announces ‘Distinguished Woman in Logistics’ award winner

Erin Van Zeeland, chief commercial officer for Schneider, was honored.


Other Posts

Roadz announces SaaS marketplace for commercial fleet operators

Small to mid-sized fleets that purchase solutions through Fleetstore can enjoy the same purchasing power as larger fleet operators, the company notes.

Chevron, Toyota road trip demonstrates renewable gasoline blend

The companies say the renewable gasoline blend can reduce lifecycle emissions.

UPS becomes a Gold Level Partner with Women in Trucking Association

WIT says UPS supports the progression of female representation in the transportation industry.

Volvo Trucks increases certified EV dealerships with more on the way

Certified EV Dealerships comprise a key cornerstone in the Volvo Trucks electromobility ecosystem.