Lytx unveils winners of Driver, Coach of the Year awards

Lytx unveils winners of Driver, Coach of the Year awards

The awards highlight the dedication of these drivers and coaches to staying accident-free using the Lytx Driver Safety Program.

Lytx, a provider of video safety solutions, recently celebrated its 2023 Driver and Coach of the Year recipients. According to the press release, each of these winners demonstrated a commitment to using Lytx’s safety technology to advance their driving and customer service skills while improving their companies’ leadership by serving as peer mentors and instructors.

The company selected the winners and runners-up of the Driver of the Year and Coach of the Year from five different categories: Services/Utilities, Transit/Motor Coach, For-Hire Trucking, Private Trucking, and Waste/Construction. Lytx notes that these awards recognize the dedication of these drivers and coaches to achieve their companies’ safety and operational goals, while staying accident-free using the Lytx Driver Safety Program.

2023 Driver of the Year Winners

Services /utilities

  • First Place Winner – Mario Lopez, Jr. (Fairfax County DPWES Stormwater)
    • Mario, a Smith System certified driver, has never had a risky driving coachable event, moving violation or preventable collision in his eight-year career. As a public service worker and emergency responder to storm events, Mario commonly finds himself in hazardous situations and always prioritizes safety. He spends time mentoring younger drivers in Fairfax County, VA to help them navigate busy suburban roads as a “Behind-the-Wheel” instructor.
  • Second Place – Andrew DeForest (Professional Teleconcepts, LLC)
  • Third Place – Billy Scott (

Transit / motor coach

  • First Place Winner – Michael Warner (First Transit Houston RAC)
    • Michael has been with First Transit Houston for seven years and driving for 10. An active participant in all monthly safety meetings, he also received the monthly Safe Driver Award for having no DriveCam events six months in a row. Passengers regularly send his company messages praising his patient, safe driving and stellar customer service.
  • Second Place – Annie Gonzalez (MV Transportation)
  • Third Place – Chris Smith (RATP DEV)

Trucking – For hire

  • First Place Winner – Sam Landrum (Maverick Transportation, LLC)
    • Sam has been driving for 35 years, 29 with Maverick. Each time a driver travels a million miles for a company without a single preventable accident, they earn a Million Mile Safe Driving Award. Sam has earned the Three Million Mile designation. According to Sam, being courteous is the most important task in maintaining both customer service and company goals.
  • Second Place – Bill Nolan (Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc.)
  • Third Place – Barney (Conway) Penny (TransWood)

Trucking – Private Fleet

  • First Place Winner – Keith Whyley (A&K Enns Trucking Ltd.)
    • Keith has been driving 36 years with no accidents or tickets, winning the 10 Year Safety Award from Federated Cooperatives Limited (FCL) in 2017. For the past 15 years, Keith has been training new drivers for A&K Enns Trucking Ltd., and notes that his driving and coaching success is due to three simple things: “I like to treat others how I would like to be treated. I follow all rules and regulations put out by my company and take all training courses required to do my job.”
  • Second Place – Hector Vega (Vitalant)


  • First Place Winner – Timothy Holmes (Manatt’s Inc.)
    • Tim has been with Manatt’s Inc. for two years and driving for 15 years total. Out of 178 concrete delivery professionals, Tim placed in the Top 10 four out of the eight working months in their Lytx rewards program. In addition, Tim had no risky driving events in 10 months and was involved in two instances of exemplary defensive driving that helped prevent a serious accident.
  • Second Place – Regina “Gina” Chacon (Waste Connections)
  • Third Place – Roy Malfarina (Lambert’s Cable Splicing)

2023 Coach of the Year Winners


  • First Place Winner – Randy Stevens (American Medical Response, Southern Virginia)
  • Second Place – Louis Jackson (Fairfax County Government, DPWES)
  • Third Place – Bob Bolotniuk (Badger Daylighting Corporation)

Transit/Motor Coach

  • First Place Winner – Doris Sneed (First Transit)
  • Second Place – Terrin Stafford (MV Transportation)
  • Third Place – Abel Desiderio (Illinois Central School Bus)

Trucking – For Hire

  • First Place Winner – Robert Sams (Hub Group)
  • Second Place – Kenneth Wasmund (Cargo Transporters, Inc.)
  • Third Place – Ralph Hamilton (Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc.)

Trucking – Private Fleet

  • Second Place – Daniel Miller (Evolve Logistics Group)
  • Third Place – Kevin Mowers (Reyes Coca-Cola Bottling)


  • First Place Winner – Tony Porter (Waste Management)
  • Second Place – Mitch Priest (Green Team of San Jose)
  • Third Place – Monica Scott (Dycom)

You May Also Like

Mitchell 1 collaborates with NEXIQ to streamline truck service diagnostic information

One subscription brings together information from the vehicle and information about the vehicle.


Mitchell 1 has partnered with NEXIQ Technologies to provide one-stop diagnostic information resource for the commercial truck service industry. The announcement came during a press conference held in conjunction with TMC’s 2024 Annual Meeting and Transportation Technology Exhibition.

Mitchell 1, developer of TruckSeries repair information, has packaged its diagnostic data within NEXIQ’s eTechnician PC-based diagnostics software to efficiently service medium- to heavy-duty trucks. Now, technicians can navigate from one information source to the other through the eTechnician diagnostic tool, eliminating the need to toggle between two software programs.

Fleet Advantage, FleetNet America by Cox Automotive partner on financing, maintenance solutions

An unbundled leases structure with finance and nationwide maintenance options.

Good News! Parts, labor costs fell slightly Q4 2023

Decisiv, TMC Benchmarking Report shows trend reversal from previous quarter.

Hunter Engineering to show HawkEye XL at TMC

Technician testimony appears to back up Hunter’s claims of increased alignment speed when using the HawkEye XL.

Navigating diesel engine oil usage uncertainties

The importance of tracking miles, monitoring oil levels and keeping accurate service records.


Other Posts

Mack announces 2023 Dealer of the Year winners

The Mack North American Dealer of the Year award for 2023 was presented to Nextran Truck Centers of Tuscumbia, Alabama.

Technical Achievement Awards finalists

The panel selected 3 product finalists for the award, and will announce the winner at this year’s TMC meeting.

Southeastern Freight Lines promotes new service center manager

Keith Schneider has held various leadership positions with Southeastern, and will relocate to fulfill this new role.

Lytx integrates data management with Fleetio

The company says paring its telematics with Fleetio’s platform will quickly give customers insights to improve maintenance workflow.